Another Old and Boring into New and Exciting

I bought this blazer a few years ago when I needed a more professional look for an interview. I wore it once and it had been sitting in my repurpose pile since. Before restyling it had no shape, was quite long and unflattering for my body shape. It was time to make something out of it or give it away.

P1030121

I started by taking in in the back princess seams to accentuate the waste line.IMG_2409.JPGblazer-buttons
I removed the first two buttons so I could press the collar open for a more casual look. I haven’t figured out how to fix the button holes yet, I may come back to that later.

The bottom was a bit more tricky. I wanted to round the corners but I had no experience tailoring or refashioning blazers. To make sure both sides matched I first drew what I wanted the corners to look like on a piece of cardboard. I cut the piece of cardboard just small enough so I could fit under the lining. With the cardboard to guide me I pressed both corners into shape making sure it was positioned at my desired final length.

IMG_2411.JPG
After pressing the hem, I hand stitched the corner to keep it in place and reattached the lining back together. Here is the before and after.

IMG_2412.JPG

4 Comments Add yours

  1. chuichoy says:

    This looks incredible!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nicole says:

      Thanks! I learned a lot with this refashion.

      Like

  2. Nicole says:

    Thanks Britney!

    Like

  3. Britney says:

    I love it!!! The after is super stylish

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

